Rapid Mapping

Rapid Mapping is a federal government service that collects and makes available geodata such as aerial or satellite imagery following natural disasters, in order to manage and document these events. The relevant authorities at all federal levels (federal government, cantons, communes) are actively supported in assessing and documenting the impacts of natural events.


Rapid Mapping collects and makes available geodata for the following natural events:

  • Flooding/Debris flows
  • Landslides
  • Rock avalanches/Rockslides
  • Glacier calving
  • Avalanches
  • Storms
  • Forest fires
  • Earthquakes


The data is used to document, and in some cases to manage, the event.

Cooperation between authorities

In case of large-scale or nationally significant events, the Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN), together with the National Emergency Operations Centre (NEOC), coordinates the requirements of federal offices and cantonal agencies as well as any other stakeholders. Based on the requests received, the FOEN decides whether or not to deploy Rapid Mapping. If so, it instructs the Federal Office of Topography swisstopo to provide the data.
swisstopo obtains the required image data and makes the processed data available as Rapid Mapping products. In addition to the newly recorded (post-disaster) data, swisstopo also supplies the periodically updated basic geodata (pre-disaster) as a basis for comparison.
PDetailed information about the service can be found in the "Factsheet Rapid Mapping" below.

Further information

Rapid Mapping requirement notification FOEN, SPOC
(On-call service, available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year)
Order form (in german)

Relevant authority swisstopo Competence Centre
Rapid Mapping
Email

Rapid Mapping

Rapid Mapping ist eine Dienstleistung des Bundes zur zeitgerechten Erhebung und Bereitstellung von Geodaten (z. B. Luft- oder Satellitenbilder) für die Ereignisbewältigung und –dokumention im Fall von Naturereignissen. Die zuständigen Stellen auf allen föderalen Stufen (Bund, Kantone, Gemeinden) werden bei der Beurteilung und Dokumentation der Auswirkungen von Naturereignissen aktiv unterstützt.


Rapid Mapping erhebt und stellt Geodaten im Fall von folgenden Naturereignissen bereit:

  • Überschwemmung / Übermurung
  • Rutschung
  • Berg-/ Felssturz
  • Gletscherabbruch
  • Lawine
  • Sturm
  • Waldbrand
  • Erdbeben


Die Daten dienen der Ereignisdokumentation und in gewissen Fällen auch der Ereignisbewältigung.

Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Behörden

Bei grossflächigen oder national bedeutenden Ereignissen koordiniert das Bundesamt für Umwelt BAFU gemeinsam mit der Nationalen Alarmzentrale NAZ die Bedürfnisse von Bundesämtern und kantonalen Fachstellen sowie möglichen weiteren Akteuren. Das BAFU entscheidet, ob aufgrund der vorliegenden Anfragen ein Rapid Mapping Einsatz ausgelöst wird oder nicht. Ist dies der Fall, erteilt das BAFU einen Auftrag an das Bundesamt für Landestopografie swisstopo zur Beschaffung der Daten.
swisstopo beschafft die erforderlichen Bilddaten und stellt die verarbeiteten Daten als Rapid Mapping Produkte zur Verfügung. Nebst neu erfasster Daten (post-disaster) werden als Grundlage und für Vergleichszwecke die vorliegenden und laufend nachgeführten Geobasisdaten von swisstopo (pre‐disaster) angeboten.
Ausführliche Informationen zur Dienstleistung finden sich im untenstehend verlinkten «Faktenblatt Rapid Mapping».

Weiterführende Informationen

Bedarfsmeldung für Rapid Mapping BAFU, SPOC
(Pikett-Dienst 24h/365d)
Link auf Bestellformular

Zuständige Stelle bei swisstopo Kompetenzzentrum
Rapid Mapping
E-mail