Rapid Mapping

Rapid Mapping is a federal government service that collects and makes available geodata such as aerial or satellite imagery following natural disasters, in order to manage and document these events. The relevant authorities at all federal levels (federal government, cantons, communes) are actively supported in assessing and documenting the impacts of natural events.


Rapid Mapping collects and makes available geodata for the following natural events:

  • Flooding/Debris flows
  • Landslides
  • Rock avalanches/Rockslides
  • Glacier calving
  • Avalanches
  • Storms
  • Forest fires
  • Earthquakes


The data is used to document, and in some cases to manage, the event.

Cooperation between authorities

In case of large-scale or nationally significant events, the Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN), together with the National Emergency Operations Centre (NEOC), coordinates the requirements of federal offices and cantonal agencies as well as any other stakeholders. Based on the requests received, the FOEN decides whether or not to deploy Rapid Mapping. If so, it instructs the Federal Office of Topography swisstopo to provide the data.
swisstopo obtains the required image data and makes the processed data available as Rapid Mapping products. In addition to the newly recorded (post-disaster) data, swisstopo also supplies the periodically updated basic geodata (pre-disaster) as a basis for comparison.
PDetailed information about the service can be found in the "Factsheet Rapid Mapping" below.

Further information

Rapid Mapping requirement notification FOEN, SPOC
(On-call service, available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year)
Order form (in german)

Relevant authority swisstopo Competence Centre
Rapid Mapping
Email

Rapid Mapping

Rapid Mapping est une prestation de la Confédération visant à relever et à mettre à disposition rapidement des géodonnées (p. ex. images aériennes ou satellitaires) en cas d’événement naturel afin de le documenter et de le gérer. Les services compétents à tous les échelons fédéraux (Confédération, cantons, communes) bénéficient ainsi d’un soutien actif pour évaluer et documenter les conséquences d’événements naturels.


Rapid Mapping permet de relever et de mettre à disposition des géodonnées lors des événements naturels suivants :

  • inondation/coulée de lave torrentielle
  • glissement de terrain
  • écroulement/éboulement
  • rupture de sérac
  • avalanche
  • tempête
  • incendie de forêt
  • tremblement de terre


Ces données permettent de documenter l’événement et, sous certaines conditions, de le gérer.

Collaboration entre les autorités

En cas d’événement de grande ampleur ou d’importance nationale, l’Office fédéral de l’environnement (OFEV) coordonne, en collaboration avec la Centrale nationale d’alarme (CENAL), les besoins des offices fédéraux et des services spécialisés cantonaux ainsi que d’éventuels autres acteurs. L’OFEV décide, en fonction des demandes, si le recours au Rapid Mapping est justifié et, le cas échéant, charge l’Office fédéral de topographie swisstopo de fournir les données.
swisstopo se procure les images nécessaires et met à disposition les données traitées sous forme de produits Rapid Mapping. En plus des nouvelles données saisies (post-événement), les géodonnées de base existantes (pré-événement) de swisstopo peuvent être consultées à titre de référence et à des fins de comparaison.
Pour plus d’informations concernant ce service, consulter la « Fiche Rapid Mapping »

Informations complémentaires

Demande Rapid Mapping OFEV, SPOC
(Service de permanence 24h/24 7j/7)
Formulaire de commande

Domaine compétent chez swisstopo Centre de compétence
Rapid Mapping
Email